Just an observation…..


Sometimes being a part of management is not so much fun.  I keep a very small case load just to keep my skills sharp.  As a manager I spend most of my day busy running reports, doing trend analysis, trying to figure out how to manager with less people and more work, attending meetings, re-distribution of work, and my least favorite  — HR problems.

However, being a manager has its rewards.  I like to know that I make a difference in someone’s career and that I have taught someone some thing they did not know before.  One of the best things about my job is the look on a young paralegal’s eyes when she/he discovers a new way of doing something or makes a decision based on a fact that they wouldn’t have known before.

Recently I received a call from a client about a paralegal in my team.  The client felt it necessary to take the time to call me and advise me that the paralegal about whom he was calling me had been a pleasure to work with.  He told me how she went above and beyond to get him the answers and information he needed and how responsive she was at all times.  I can’t begin to express how proud I was at that moment.  I don’t mean to sound condescending, but I was very proud of her.  For those of you who are managers, you know what I’m talking about and you know the feeling that you get when someone on your team gets the recognition he/she deserves.

I asked the client to send me an email detailing this conversation and I told him that I was going to send it to my manager.  That same day the client sent me the email and I forwarded it on to my manager with a note explaining my telephone conversation with the client.  I cc’d the paralegal and thank her for her hard work.

I’m not sure if this happens with all of you.  But being a manager I don’t get the feedback I sometimes need.  Sometimes I feel like I’m spinning my wheels and not getting anywhere.  Then something like this phone call happen and I remember why I’m doing what I’m doing.

I have learned that when my team wins, I win.  I don’t have to be the person in the front line doing the work.  It’s sufficient to know that I am the person who provides the young paralegals with the tools for the job to be done well.  When they win I win.

I love being a paralegal manager.

2 thoughts on “Just an observation…..

  1. I REALLY LIKE THE WAY YOU WROTE THIS.THIS WASNT ABOUT JUST YOU.YOU DONT FIND THAT ALOT OF SELFLESS ACTS LIKE THIS,AND FOR THAT.I WANT YOU TO KNOW IN THAT MOMENT YOU LET THE SUN RISE.

Leave a Reply

