RSS

From the Paralegal Convention

28 Oct

Today, as most of you know, I attended the New Jersey Paralegal Convention. The convention is an annual event and this year it was held at the Renaissance Convention Center in Islin, New Jersey. The venue has been reserved for next year as well. The Center was great. Very nice open area with lots of vendors. There were vendors that would have interested any type of paralegal professional. There were court reporters, process servers, global document filing and retrieval, this last one being really popular with everyone trying to go green but still having to keep in compliance with document retention policies. There was a lot to keep you busy as well as a lot of little “toys” that they all brought along. I got a baseball bat (a miniature one), the obligatory pens (lots of those), letter openers, note pads, can never have enough of those around and the coolest thing ever…. a bag that turns folds onto itself into the size of a golf ball (will be great for my commute).

Needless to say it was a great day spent to lots of people that do what I do and a great chance to network. If you ask me, and this is just my humble opinion, every paralegal should belong to a paralegal organization. There is no better way to stay abreast of the industry and learn what others are doing.

I was going to try to film some video but I was told I was not sure if it would be ok with the venue and the organization since I had not cleared it with them before the event. Therefore I have only a very short video which I will post right here.

In addition, I used my iPad throughout the entire event. I used an application called NotesPlus and recorded the sessions at the same time as I was taking notes. I will be reviewing this application once I have the chance to see how it performed under pressure. Obviously, you will all the first ones to know how it performed.

The day was great.  Lots of learning, lots of networking and lots of great ideas for future goals and directions to take.  Can’t wait to get started.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 28, 2011 in paralegals, Professional Organizations

 

One response to “From the Paralegal Convention

  1. injury law

    September 25, 2013 at 2:39 am

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

     

Leave a Reply

 
